It's only fair to share...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Within your physical body is your spiritual body that is made up of multiple energy centers. The energy centers within your spiritual body are known as “chakras,” which translates to “wheels” or “discs” in Sanskrit.


Your chakras are centers of activity that receive, express, and integrate life force energy. Essentially, they are the workers that are responsible for your physical, spiritual, and mental well-being. Your chakras interact with the universe, celestial beings, nature, and other people by absorbing energy and sending it outward. Your chakras also help you release any traumas, whether it be from this lifetime or a past lifetime. Because of their many tasks, they can sometimes get out of whack and off-balance.


Many traditional writings say that there are 88,000 chakras in the human body, covering all areas of the body. Most of the bodies chakras are small. In fact, there are 40 of them in the hands, feet, fingertips, and shoulders. You’ll often hear people talking about the Seven Main Chakras. If you’ve been in a metaphysical shop or a yoga studio lately, no doubt you’ve seen wall art, tapestries, or statues that highlight the main seven.


Starting from the base of your spine and going up along your spine to the crown of your head, the seven main chakras each have their own energy field. Your chakras are constantly rotating and vibrating. They have many responsibilities and influence our thoughts, behavior, emotions, physical body shape, glandular processes, and physical ailments.


When one of your chakras is blocked and the energy doesn’t flow in a harmonious manner, the results will manifest in all areas of your life. Additionally, because each chakra is related to something within the physical body, the repercussions can occur in certain organs, glands, and portions of your body. In other words, the chakra imbalance will show itself by affecting the endocrine gland with which it has a relationship.


How do you do a chakra assessment?


The good news is that you don’t have to have much experience with intuitive work, if any at all. Simply evaluate your chakras by running your hand in front of your physical body, taking not of any sensations you feel. The other method is dowsing, or using a pendulum to see if one of your chakras is blocked or too open.  Run the pendulum up your body, checking in with each chakra, to see if its direction, spin radius, or speed changes. Each of the chakras should be about the same in all three of those areas. If anything is amiss, that particular chakra could be out of balance.


How do we balance our chakras?


There are many energy modalities that allow us to bring our chakras back into balance. We can influence them with any of the following techniques:

  • Reiki

  • Shamanism

  • Chromotherapy or color therapy

  • Yoga

  • Meditation

  • Conscious breathing

  • Sound therapy

  • EFT (emotional freedom technique)

  • Positive thoughts

  • Guided visualization

  • Affirmations

  • Crystal healing

  • Aromatherapy


Whenever you’re working to restore balance to your chakras or you’re working on a client, remember to keep your intentions focused on creating a sense of balance between them in accordance with the highest and best good. No one modality is better than another, so you really can’t go wrong.